Grammar 4

Read the following “ihlasly” and you will get useful knowledge.

Baca dengan ihlas agar ilmu anda bermanfaat. Amiiiiin

Kerjakan seperti tugas grammar sebelumnya untuk 1 minggu yang akan datang.

A. can and be able

Part 1 can, used to express ability with could, shall/will be able

Fill the following spaces, using can for present, could for past and shall/will be able for future. There is no need to use other able forms in this section. Put to where necessary before the infinitives.

1     …………you stand on your head?

I…………when I was at school but I …………now.(2nd verb negative)

2.  When I’ve passed my driving test I…hire a car from our local garage.

3.  At the end of the month the Post Office will send him an enormous telephone bill        which he………..pay. (negative)

4.  I……..remember the address. (negative)-

………….you even remember the street? (negative)

5.  When the fog lifts we……..see where we are.

6.  You’ve  put too much in your rucksack; you never…….carry all that.

7.  When I was a child I………understand adults, and now that I am an adult  I……….understand children. (negative)

8.  When you have taken your degree you…….. put letters after your name?

9.  Don’t try to look at all the pictures in the gallery. Otherwise when you get home you…….. remember any of them. (negative)

10.  When I first went to Spain I………….read Spanish but I……….speak it. (2nd verb negative)

B.  may

Insert the correct form of may/might except in 10 and 36, where a be allowed form is necessary.

  1. It ………………rain, you’d better take a coat
  2. He said that it …………rain.
  3. We……… as well stay here till the weather improves.
  4. …………. I borrow your umbrella?
  5. You……….tell me. (I think I have a right to know.)
  6. Candidates……….. not bring textbooks into the examination room.
  7. People convicted of an offence……….. (have a right to) appeal.
  8. If he knew our address he………….come and see us.
  9. ……I come in?-Please do

10.  When he was a child he………(they let him) do exactly as he liked

C.  must and have to

Fill the spaces in the following sentences by inserting must or the present, future, or past from of have to

  1. She……leave home at eight every morning at present.
  2. Notice in a picture gallery: Cameras, sticks and umbrella……….be left at the desk.
  3. He  sees very badly; he…….wear glasses all the time.
  4. I………do all the typing at my office
  5. You………read this book. It’s really excellent.
  6. The children……..play in the streets till their mothers get home from work.
  7. She felt ill and…….. leave early
  8. Mr. Pitt…….cook is own meals. His wife is away.
  9. I hadn’t enough money and I………pay by coequal

10.  I never remember his address; I always……look it up

D. must not and need not

Use must not or need not to fill the spaces in the following sentences.

  1. You……….ring the bell; I have a key.
  2. Notice in cinema: Exit doors……….be locked during performances.
  3. You………drink this: it is poison.
  4. We………..drive fast; we have plenty of time.
  5. You……….drive fast; there is a speed limit here.
  6. Candidates……. Bring books into the examination room.
  7. You …… write to him for he will be here tomorrow.
  8. We……..make any noise or we’ll wake the baby.
  9. You…….bring an umbrella. It isn’t going to rain.

10.  You…. Do all the exercise. Ten sentences will be enough

E. Need not and don’t have to etc.

Replace the words in bold type by need not/ need I? etc., or a negative or interrogative have to form.

I’ve been invited to a wedding; but I can’t go. Will it be necessary for me to send a present?

Shall I have to send a present?

  1. It isn’t necessary for him to go on working. He has already reached retiring age. (He…..)
  2. Was it necessary for you to wait a long time for your bus?
  3. It isn’t necessary for me to water my tomato plants every day.
  4. It will be necessary for them to get up early when they go out to work every day.
  5. We had to stop at the frontier but we were not required to open our cases.
  6. It wasn’t necessary to walk. He took us in his car. (We…)
  7. My employer said, ‘ It shan’t requite you tomorrow.’ (You…….come)
  8. It is never necessary for me to work on Saturdays. won’t be necessary to live at
  9. When I am eighteen I’ll be of age. Then it won’t be necessary to live at home if I don’t want to.
  10. New teacher to his class: It isn’t necessary for you to call me ‘Sir’ call me ‘Bill’.

F. must, can’t and needn’t with the perfect infinitive

Must + perfect infinitive is used for affirmative deductions.

Can’t / couldn’t + infinitive is used for negative deductions.

Needn’t + perfect infinitive is used for a past action which was unnecessary but was performed.

Fill the spaces in the following sentences by using one of these forms + the perfect infinitive of the verbs in brackets.

  1. Did you hear me come in last night?-

No, I……..(be) asleep.

  1. I wonder who broke the wineglass; it……(be) the cat for she was out all day.
  2. You……(help) him. (You helped him but he didn’t need help.)
  3. I had my umbrella when I came out but I haven’t got it now. You …(leave) it on the bus.
  4. He….. (escape) by this window because it is barred.
  5. I……(give) L10. L5 would have been enough.
  6. I saw a rattlesnake near the river yesterday. You…. (see) a rattlesnake. There aren’t any rattlesnakes in this country.
  7. He is back already. He…….(start) very early.
  8. He returned home with a tiger cub. His wife (be) very pleased about that

10.  I bought two bottles of milk. You……..(buy) milk; we have heaps in the house.

Leave a Reply

